Building for Architecture and Kindred Subjects / Architecture Building
The cornerstone of the Building for Architecture and Kindred Subjects was laid on November 16, 1926. Lorado Taft himself laid the cornerstone, while L. H. Provine, another professor in architecture, read the list of objects to be placed in the cornerstone, and Laura B. Evans presided over the ceremony. Also present were H. B. Wheelock, President of the Chicago Chapter of the American Institute of Architects, B. L. Hulsebus, President of the Central Illinois Chapter of the American Institute of Architects, and L. E. Stanhope, President of the Illinois Society of Architects. 
The building was finally dedicated in conjunction with the Conference on Architectural Education on November 8, 1928.  Its 65,200 square feet were designed by Charles Platt  came at a cost of $486,000.  By the 1950's there were two galleries in the basement showcasing "paintings, sculptures, prints, and architectural drawings". 
During the late 1950's, a $2,230,000 addition was put onto the building.